GIA (Gemological Institute of America) recently announced the winners of the annual George A. Schuetz Jewelry Design Contest held to honour creative and original designs in men’s jewellery. The winning entries represent three continents: Australia, Asia and Europe.

A bold ring design that features a 1.5 carat (ct.) center-cut diamond offset by eight .25 ct. side diamonds carrying a rendition of platinum band with 18 ct. yellow gold segments and rivets won first place. It was designed by Karl Williams of Wellington, New Zealand for his bold. “It is an absolute honor to take first place in such a prestigious international design competition,” Williams said. “I believe the scope for design in men’s jewelry is extensive, and the Schuetz contest encourages designers to push creativity to the limit.”

The second place award went to Clarrie Yap of Pokfulam, Hong Kong. Yap, a GIA Graduate Gemologist (G.G.) diploma holder, for an intricate ring design that highlights the beauty of an urban landscape. The third winning design - a pendant made of white gold and onyx was made by Elena Lorenzi, a GIA Accredited Jewelry Professional (A.J.P.) from Ventimiglia, Italy.

The GIA George A. Schuetz Jewelry Design Contest is an annual international competition, which recognizes the best original men’s jewellery and accessories designs. It was established in 1973 in honour of George A. Schuetz, Sr. the late renowned designer of men’s jewellery designer. “We’re proud to host the contest each year to celebrate the contributions Mr. Schuetz made to men’s jewelry design,” said Robert Ackermann, a GIA jewelry design instructor who directed the 2010 competition. “GIA is committed to fostering individuals within the industry, and a large part of that is encouraging young designers to take creative risks and expand their horizons.”

The Schuetz contest is judged by an independent panel of industry experts that evaluates each entry based on - form, wearability, manufacturability and appeal. Winners receive a crystal plaque commemorating their achievement; the first place award winner also receives $500.

To view the original article visit